OKONOMIYAKI VIRGIN NO MORE!

I have to admit that I had to let my excitement to review go down a notch first before attempting to write this. I didn’t want to have my excitement affect the way I will be reviewing the first restaurant I’ll be writing about so I needed to calm myself over the last few days. Although, the last weeks have been pretty hectic I still needed to make sure that I’ll be as impartial as possible. So let’s g!

I first passed by Chibo Okonomiyaki when I hunted Uma Uma Ramen down at Maison Mall just across SMX Convention Center in Mall of Asia Complex. I didn’t bother peeking inside their place because I just had my lunch so all I did then was look at the menu and see if I’d want to get something when I come back. And I did without even looking at their entire menu (which is super big by the way). So when I had a set-up at SMX Convention Center again, I didn’t have second thoughts about eating at Chibo Okonomiyaki anymore. I went there alone and I remember being very VERY hungry!

When you first come in to their place, you’ll realize how limited the seats are in a rather dim-lighted place. It can probably fit a little more than 50 people? (I can’t be sure.) But soon you’ll notice the teppanyaki griddles they have installed on each table. When I saw the griddles my fascination escalated quickly. I am such a sucker for places where you can cook your own food. The second time I ate their, it wasn’t any different

dsc_0036

NEW FAVORITES

I never had any experiences with okonomiyaki before so I was very interested in trying one out during the first time I visited the place. I ended up getting their Vegetable Yakisoba, Cheese, Spinach and Asparagus Teppan, and Mattari Okonomiyaki. (Click here to check out how my day went on my daily blog for that day!)

Their Cheese, Spinach and Asparagus Teppan’s pretty straight forward. Half-cooked asparagus stems and spinach are covered with chunky tomato sauce and finished off with melted cheese on top. For sure I have had meals with tomato sauce and cheese but never over vegetables and leafy ones. But I actually enjoyed it although if you do not put it over the teppanyaki griddle you might eventually notice the cheese sitting on top of your vegetables pretty solidly so that’s not too nice.

dsc_0020

Serving the Vegetable Yakisoba, they put it straight on your teppanyaki griddle. But, it’s not for you to cook it. I guess they just put it there so it won’t get cold while you’re eating it. Upon your approval, they will finish it off with some bonito flakes and seaweeds which are both part of the seasonings and condiments on each table. I personally prefer having the yakisoba sit on the griddle for a few minutes so some of the noodles could be toasted a bit more (but make sure to mix it from time to time). It’s a good yakisoba, probably not the best but I love how they’re very liberal with the rest of the components of the noodle dish. I suggest you let them (or do it by yourself lol) add bonito flakes and some seaweeds on your yakisoba because it’s giving more depth to the flavor of the dish. PLUS it’s super cute when bonito flakes dance through the heat!

dsc_0024

And as I have said, I needed to make sure I try one of their okonomiyakis out. I ordered their Mattari Okonomiyaki which had some asparagus, cheese, mochi and pork (which I had them take out). To put this as simple as possible, I LOVED IT SO MUCH. I seriously didn’t realize before how good okonomiyakis can be (I am dreaming of tasting one from Japan soon!). The softness of the pancake with the savory sauces and the ingredients inside it is just so good. It has definitely gone down to be one of my most favorite Japanese dishes of all time!

dsc_0037

The second time I visited their plate, I ordered the same set but added Mushroom with Garlic Sauce and Soba Meshi. My mom said their Soba Meshi is pretty good with very good servings but comparing it to our family’s all-time favorite rice from Kamemeshi, it’s falling a bit short. Their Mushroom with Garlic Sauce is a different story though. I personally loved it even if I wasn’t too sure what species were the mushrooms they served. (Click here to check out how my day went on my daily blog for that day!)

BETTER REASONS

My mom may not have enjoyed eating there as much as I did but I still think it’s a pretty good restaurant especially if you want to stay there longer than normal. Their teppanyaki griddles would make sure your food won’t go cold while you’re having good conversations with your friends and their dim lighting makes the ambiance more relaxing compare to other Japanese restaurants.

dsc_0050

Their servings are relatively good and one order can possibly fill you up pretty well especially their okonomiyaki. The price may not be too cheap (possibly on a mid-level price points) but they’re not using basic ingredients so you know it’s well worth it. Of all the Japanese restaurants there are (and more coming) it’s really hard for any Japanese place to come out as strong as others but I honestly think Chibo Okonomiyaki is a pretty decent competition for others. Just as their name suggests, make sure to try out any of their okonomiyakis and let me know what you think. I cannot fully compare it because it’s the first one I’ve tried so I’ll definitely need your thoughts on this (and of course, I need to try more).

dsc_0049

Over-all it’s a great experience and I’ll most likely come back soon with some friends so I can try the rest of their okonomiyaki offerings!

Chibo Okonomiyaki Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Author: Micco John

Always hungry.

Leave a Reply

